Cleaning Up the Truckee

Sitting on the edge of the river doing some writing, and a guy floating by on his tube calls out, ‘There’s a bunch of rookies on the river behind us.’ I laugh. Is that why I just saw an empty beer case and several cans float by? ‘They’re all around me he says. Eighteen of ‘em.’ Not picking them up though?

‘I’ve picked up a couple,’ calls out his friend as he in turn floats by. ‘Want one?’ Heck yes I say, and he launches a can of Coors light thirty feet through the air at me. ‘My good deed for the day,’ he shouts as I catch it and open it in a spray. Cheers to that mate, and they disappear down the river.

And shortly after the rookies floated past with their empty cooler. It’s good guys. We’ve already picked up all your litter.

We’re so environmentally conscious here in Reno.

Leave a Reply

