A Floppy-Necked Giraffe

Daily Prompt: Toy Story

He was a stuffed giraffe with a broken neck and his name was Giraffey. People always talk about the imagination and creativity of children, but, either that’s a complete myth, or my childhood self was lacking in that department. But regardless of the insignificance of the name, the significance of the toy was undeniable. It was my totem, see. My sisters and I were all born in Botswana, and so were given tribal names and totems by the locals. Thus I was christened Tebogo, and bestowed with the giraffe as my totem animal.

I’m not sure when the stuffed animal came into the picture, but it was there from my earliest memories, broken neck and all. And he’s probably still somewhere around my parent’s house, alongside a stuffed elephant and a stuffed hippo. Three siblings, who couldn’t be more different.

8 thoughts on “A Floppy-Necked Giraffe

  1. Pingback: My doll house | A mom's blog

  2. Pingback: Did I really have a favorite toy? | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: Bears, Teddy and Otherwise | The Silver Leaf Journal

  4. Pingback: By A Show Of Hands, Who Played With Barbies… That Still Had Their Heads? | Molly Greye

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Toy Story | I Hope You're Taking Notes

  7. Pingback: Friendly monsters | Natasha's Memory Garden

  8. Pingback: Friendly monsters | Natasha's Memory Garden

Leave a Reply

