Do You Understand the Words Comin’ Outta My Mouth?

Daily Prompt: Express Yourself

 

They didn’t get it. I had been perfectly clear and explained it multiple times. But was met with uncomprehending faces.

Once more unto the breach, dear friends.

‘In order for the facade to have the desired effect, we need to angle the windows in order to create a repeating pattern that expresses the client’s vision. But the angle has to be such that the apertures remain of a consistent facing and there are no conflicting sightlines.’ I paused and looked around the architect’s office for inspiration. The project team had been working on variations of the facade design for a few days, and I had sat through the various presentations impatiently. I couldn’t follow what any of them were driving at, and was eager to simply present my proposal.

The uncomprehending looks didn’t change though, even after this last foray into clarification. Then finally, one of them spoke.

‘但是,我们不会作了.’

My turn to look uncomprehending. He repeated himself, pointing at a particular corner of the model. I nodded sagely and sat back down.

Two weeks working in China and I realized it was going to be a steep learning curve.

3 thoughts on “Do You Understand the Words Comin’ Outta My Mouth?

  1. Pingback: Can you say it in a zoo? Can you say it in haiku? | Rob's Surf Report

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Express Yourself | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: No words to express that feeling | Processing the life

Leave a Reply

